Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

## **China Xinhua Education Group Limited**

中國新華教育集團有限公司

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) (Stock Code: 2779)

## **DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR**

## MAJOR TRANSACTION THE ACQUISITION OF 60% OF SCHOOL SPONSOR'S INTEREST IN TWO SCHOOLS (NAMELY, KUNMING MEDICAL UNIVERSITY HAIYUAN COLLEGE AND KUNMING HEALTH SCHOOL) THROUGH THE ACQUISITION OF 60% OF THE EQUITY INTEREST OF FUDA COMPANY

Reference is made to the announcement dated 15 July 2019 (the "Announcement") issued by China Xinhua Education Group Limited (the "Company") in relation to the acquisition of 60% of school sponsor's interest in two schools (namely, Haiyuan College and Kunming Health School) through the acquisition of 60% of the equity interest of Fuda Company. Unless otherwise stated, capitalized terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement.

As disclosed in the Announcement, a circular (the "**Circular**") containing, among other things, (i) further details of the Agreement and the Transaction; and (ii) financial information of Fuda Company, is expected to be despatched within 15 business days (as defined in the Listing Rules) after publication of the Announcement, which is expected to be on or before 5 August 2019.

As additional time is required for the Company to prepare and finalize certain information to be set out in the Circular, the Company has applied for a waiver from strict compliance with Rule 14.41(a) of the Listing Rules for an extension of time to despatch the Circular on or before 30 November 2019.

By Order of the Board China Xinhua Education Group Limited Wu Junbao Chairman

Hong Kong, 5 August 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Zhang Ming, Mr. Lu Zhen and Mr. Wang Yongkai, the non-executive Director is Mr. Wu Junbao, and the independent non-executive Directors are Ms. Zhang Kejun, Mr. Yang Zhanjun and Mr. Chau Kwok Keung.